Weekend Freedom Machines banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Operating Tractor with no issues mowing lawn, stopped tractor ate lunch, when I returned to start tractor and put away in garage, the tractor started fine, however I went to put it in forward the engine died immediately. I tried to nurse it back in garage with no success, raised the transmission lever on the side and pushed tractor in garage. I tried adjusting neutral safety switch with no succes. I ordered a new switch and installed hoping this was an easy fix, wrong. Tractor repeats the same condition as initially. I have tried unplugging front, rear lights and hour meter to see if they may be the culprit. I have the TM 1591 manual and have done some test, still can not identify the issue. Tractor has 2000 hrs on it all original as it was my dads, always maintained. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciate, I am not very good with electrical issues. Thanks

·
Premium Member
10,245 Posts
If the engine ignition is disabled when the tractor is taken out of neutral, then there is an issue with the seat switch circuitry below:
Font Material property Schematic Parallel Pattern

Verify that the seat switch is operational, and that the 10 amp fuse F2 and its holder are providing power to the seat circuit. The red circle shows the seat bypass input to the TDCM that comes from the K1 Neutral Start relay -- that voltage is present whenever the starting interlocks are all satisfied. While not shown in the excerpt below, that #810 wire comes from the same relay terminal as the #811 wire.
Font Parallel Schematic Engineering Slope