Weekend Freedom Machines banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have a 1990 JD 318 with the 50" mower deck. Love it. I am new to working on small engines, but learning. This past week I changed the oil and filter.

When I filled it back up with oil, I filled it slightly above the full line on the dipstick. I let some oil out till the oil came right down to the line. Then I twisted the dipstick on and got busy with other stuff.

So then today I was mowing the lawn, and after about a half hour of mowing and all of the sudden it coughed a couple times and a bunch of blue (maybe white) smoke came out of the exhaust. Like two big puffs of it. Yikes! It coughed and ran rough for about 5sec and then it went back to running fine, with no smoke or anything.

I freaked out and promptly killed the blades, lifted the deck and took it straight back to the garage. When I got there I turned it off and opened the hood. I noticed that the dipstick was not screwed down into it’s pipe. it was unscrewed and up about a half inch. (but no oil had come out or sprayed or anything - it was dry all around.

Then I took the air filter off and it and the foam pre-cleaner around it were saturated with oil. Oil coated the inside of the air filter box.
170820-oilinfilterbox.jpg

You can see the remnants of the oil all around in there, after I had wiped most of it up. I threw out the pre-cleaner and the air filter and will get new ones tomorrow. I also wiped out all of the oil you see here, as well as took off the little plate there over the carburator and cleaned both sides of it.

After I cooled the engine I checked the oil level, and it’s now half way between full and empty.
170820-oillevel.jpg

So my questions are: Did I wreck something? What happened? How did the oil get inside the air filter box? Do I need to pull the engine or something?