Weekend Freedom Machines banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here, but I have been lurking for some time. I want to thank you all for the great information that I have gleaned from you all.

First a little background. I recently bought a 1985 (ish) 318. I really like it, it came with a tiller and snowblower.
Hmmm

Anyway. It runs ok, but I know that there is work that I am going to have to do to it. When the engine gets warm, after a few minutes of running, it starts to 'surge' unless i'm running the tractor at full forward speed. The motor changes pitch going louder and softer, but it doesn't seem to affect the power (tiller and mower till work well). Just concerned if this is normal, of if it indicates a problem.

Second, and I KNOW that this is a problem with the pistons/rings, the engine blows oil into the air filter chamber, and when the oil cap is off, it sends back pressure up spattering oil everywhere. Currently, I just make sure that there is enough oil every time that I go to use it.
Does this mean a new engine?

Talk to you soon.

Gordon

·
Registered
792 Posts
Gordon,

Welcome to WFM!! If you can't find your answer here I don't think you'll find it anywhere.

You may have a fouled carb. but that wouldn't wait till the engine got hot. Pull off the engine shields and see if the cooling fins are clean. If a mouse got up in there and built a nest in the flywheel housing the draft will force the junk (and maybe the mouse) into the fins. I had this happen to me twice and it did just about what you are describing and it caused me to replace the engine.

Please keep us posted on your progress!! Good luck.

Jim A.

·
Premium Member
9,555 Posts
Gordon,