Weekend Freedom Machines banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
JD 430 Mower Belt. Hello all, I'm the second owner of a new to me 1991 JD 430 with 60" deck. I have been mowing 2-3 acres weekly since purchasing two months ago. Yesterday the mower belt came the rear spindle, I believe that is the idler wheel. I have two manuals, but not the deck manual. Would anyone know what I would need to remove to reroute the belt? Thank you in advance. This is a great forum.

· Registered
4 Posts
The belt shouldn't really come off. Maybe it's the wrong size or really stretched out.

Anyway, you shouldn't have to take anything off or at least on my 46 deck you don't. Just pull back on the idler pulley to give you some slack and work it back on. The idler pulley should have sufficient tension on it from the spring. It only goes on one way and pretty easy to figure out once you get your hands on it.

Congrats on your new machine! JD's are awesome.

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
David, thanks for the quick reply. Ok... I used the wrong term, the belt is no longer routed through the spindle that the gearbox is over. It seems to me that I am not able to pass the belt over or under the spindle.

· Registered
1,507 Posts
Joni,
Are you sure the belt is not broken? I don't know how it could come off as you described if something like a shaft or belt isn't broken

Dom

· Registered
56 Posts
Have the same issue bought a new belt per the 60" manual to put the belt on you have to remove the gear box. I tried like you to slip it over the gear box pulley and couldn't. As much as I fought the belt I didn't want it to fail again so I purchased a new belt and will put it on before I fight the old one anymore.

· Premium Member
10,555 Posts
Joni,