Weekend Freedom Machines banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought an older style 49 blower about a month ago. I haven't used it yet obviously, but it seems like it is in good shape. Today, I found what appears to be a newer styled 49 blower with a taller chute. It appears to be in excellent shape from the pics and the seller wants $250 for it. Would you buy the newer styled one and sell the older style one if you were me? Advice appreciated as always. I have no experience with either blower.

Dan

·
Registered
1,078 Posts
The price for the newer one seems good. Lots of people add a taller chute on the older model to improve the throwing distance. I'd probably buy the newer one and sell the older one.

Steve

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Really? I won't feel too bad if it isn't I guess. The chute looked taller in the picture and more rounded. I am probably wrong.

·
Registered
2,442 Posts
This is what a tall chute looks like. It might just be camera angle, but the other one does look a bit short.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
"Oh boy..." what? Did I commit a foul? I didn't mean to. I have no affiliation with this blower and if I should not have linked a craigslist ad I apologize.

Edit: I searched around the site and found where Creaigslist ads were not supposed to be posted. Mods, Please nuke this thread or at least the offending post. Sorry.

·
Registered
3,223 Posts
LOL, No biggie but it becomes a hot topic when someone does it. Now you know and btw, Welcome to WFM Daniel, it's a great site.

·
Registered
3,311 Posts
One thing I didnt see mentioned...
While people do put the tall chutes on the older square short chutes to improve throwing distance, I seem to recall that the round short chute also throws further than the square short chute.

Might be worth it if it is actually in better shape than yours. But thats for you to decide.