Weekend Freedom Machines banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
908 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So the side panels came out decent but the Fender Pan came out blotchy paint gun issues and experience and I don't know what else but my question is I used rest oleum enamel John Deere green if I paint it again in a couple days do I sand it 1st and rough it up with like 1500 or 2000 grit and then put another coat on?

·
Registered
484 Posts
Yeah, sand it. Just need to rough it up some.
I'd highly recommend using JD rattle can paint. I know its pricey, but 1 can goes a long way and it sprays really nice.

Reactions: Merc1973

·
Registered
908 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have alot of the rustoleum quart. I want to give it another whirl. Trying dad's better gun, my harbor freight cheapo had issues. If I sand and recoat can we get smooth consistent finish?

·
Registered
484 Posts
That's getting above my pay grade, lol.
I'm a rattle can painter.

Reactions: gabby_in_wis

·
Registered
908 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I used mineral spirits to thin, no hardener. Could of my outlet pressure totally screw up a paint job?

·
Registered
2,066 Posts
ptz, I'm not a painter, but I've painted enamel & latex with good results...to me anyhow!
I've found too low an air pressure results in paint kinda dribbling out nozzle or very large droplets hitting you job. Too high a pressure results in very small droplets...pretty much atomized... and tend to hit & bouncing of your job. I usually spray around 30-35 psi and I'm happy with results.