Weekend Freedom Machines banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
420 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tractor is fine still running good just ordered a belt. Anyway.. for future builds what is the best dial bore gauge to get that will do 40 and 50cc up to 500cc or bigger. And will that gauge be all I need to determine how far off the the cylinder or cylinders are?

· Registered
2,791 Posts

I have one similar to this, and I think it has worked well for me. I am no master mechanic, and measurements are just relative to the unworn area at the bottom of the cylinder. But it certainly gives me guidance on whether the bore is good enough or not.

· Registered
2,676 Posts
You will need micrometers that cover the bore size range to set the gage. You can get by with "inch" mics if you have them. If you plan to buy some, you might want metric mics and dial bore gage. Don't know what you are working on, but guessing the bores are metric?

tommyhawk

· Premium Member
10,384 Posts
The challenges of rebuilding a Yanmar three cylinder diesel like the one in your 332 tractor are a bit different than most internal combustion engines due to the very high compression (355 PSI and up) that these engines utilize. Have you measured the engine's compression to determine if -- and how urgently you may need to do internal work? It takes special gauges to just do the compression measurement, so you will need those before proceeding. Here is the factory test method and specification on the per cylinder compression minimums, and the maximum allowed differences from one cylinder to any other.

Font Motor vehicle Engineering Machine Auto part

Chuck

· Registered
406 Posts
I would look at the Fowler brand mentioned here previously. They are affordable for a home shop. They have many different options to pick out what you need. I went with the xtender dial gauge for my work. 1.4 to 6 inch. I was thinking I might need for checking small brake cylinders after my Onan rebuilding.
Dan

· Registered