Weekend Freedom Machines banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How long do you guys typically let your diesels warm up before putting a load on them?

I've got a 330 and am trying to decide the proper length of time. My machine runs well, but does have a faint diesel smoke under load until it gets good and warm.

Curious as to what you fellas do.

·
Registered
10,604 Posts
Do you have the owners manual? I would use the guidelines that they suggest for this as they built the tractor. If not then I hope someone here knows or a phone call to a JD dealers service department might help. Roger

·
Registered
551 Posts
I'm pretty new to the little diesel, but as of now. I start it, pull it out of the garage, let it go for a little bit, and start mowing. I have a nice little flat area about 2 mower widths wide and 120' long next to my driveway, run it 3/4 throttle, that gives it a nice easy warm up and then throttle up and it's off to the races.

That's kind of how I run my other vehicles as well, start it, let it get oil pressure, and go. No hard driving until full temperature.

Reactions: Skwirl

·
Registered
791 Posts
Letting a diesel warm up is for the oil. Diesel engine oil is generally a 15/40 weight. So if it's cold out, let it warm so you have good oil flow before putting a load on it. When its 32 or below, I'll it run 10 minutes or so with the rpm slightly raised. Then head out with it.
When it's nice out like now, a few minutes run time, raise rpm, cycle hydraulics to warm them up to, off to work it goes.
Shut down I kinda do the same, let it run a few minutes at 1/2 throttle, just to stabilize the temps. Theres no turbo to cool down, so no need for a long shut down.
Keep the oil & filter changed before it gets really nasty to.
Power service fuel additive in the tank all year long also. Theres no down side to it and the benefits for out weigh the cost.

·
Registered
551 Posts