Weekend Freedom Machines banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone happen to know if a 200 series fender deck would fit on a 400? I would be comfortable modifying it slightly if need be. Just wondering how close they are in size and mounting locations.

·
Registered
5,835 Posts
It appears M80311 used on JD 400 s/n 30459-55000 is shared with compact tractors. The 400 has an extra slot for hi/low range lever that would not be included on 2XX tractors.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It appears M80311 used on JD 400 s/n 30459-55000 is shared with compact tractors. The 400 has an extra slot for hi/low range lever that would not be included on 2XX tractors.
Thanks for the info Gabby. So does this mean I could use a 2xx fender and just cut an extra slot for the hi/low? I'm new to this vintage tractor world so forgive me if I know absolutely nothing.😂

·
Registered
5,835 Posts
I have never owned a 400 so am not an expert on this model. Another major difference would be the 2XX tractors have fuel tank under hood mounted on battery tray. The 400 has the tack mounted under the fender deck so I suspect fender deck mounting is also different. I do not know if frame width is different. I am offering a wild guess that they are not interchangeable and there would be more to it than cutting a slot for the hi/low range lever.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have never owned a 400 so am not an expert on this model. Another major difference would be the 2XX tractors have fuel tank under hood mounted on battery tray. The 400 has the tack mounted under the fender deck so I suspect fender deck mounting is also different. I do not know if frame width is different. I am offering a wild guess that they are not interchangeable and there would be more to it than cutting a slot for the hi/low range lever.
That makes sense. I will continue the search.

·
Registered
3,925 Posts