Weekend Freedom Machines banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well as the old saying goes “Winter is coming” or the “Long nights” so I been for something to keep me busy during those times coming.

Really really wanted a hydraulic lift model..I did find two a long ways from home and those are off the table yet !! But I found this 65 on Craigslist all original with the deck and draft plate..Im new to the round fenders!!

Owner actually worked at the JD dealership and said from what he could tell it was all here and original expect for the front tires and muffler..Said head gasket does have a small leak..for $350 sign me up.

So I got it home and done the usual gas,spark plug new fuel line,clamps,cleaned the bowl and tank,checked oil,got a good battery on it,cleaned the connections at the battery..crossed my fingers and I barley had to choke it..and it started.

So today I gave it a good bath,got it warmed up and change the oil,and drove it around put it away and wiped it down with some Wd-40..it really puts the shine back in it.

I’m not really sure at this point if I will do a full from restoration on this one or fix the little stuff and get it back into smooth working order..But I wanted to start a thread because I’m new to the round fenders and really don’t know what’s right wrong or really original..first things first tho I will be fixing the head gasket and new belts all the way around…So here is to this long winter ahead

Before the bath

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Administrator
6,393 Posts
The 2059 SM will cover all the round fender tractors. Some of the procedures for a '66 and '67 110 or 112 may be different for a '65, i.e. brake and clutch adjustment (if I remember correctly). Deere made a few running changes in the RFs in it's run.

I had two 1965 110s, traded both off.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·