Weekend Freedom Machines banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think I see how the green box brackets line up with the holes on the frame, but it’s blocked by stuff all around it. I’m new to tractors and really most machinery in general - learning as I go. This is my first week with the 318. It has a loader in front, but gets almost no traction, which is why I’m trying the ballast box. Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Tire Wheel Vehicle Automotive tire Motor vehicle

Plant Natural environment Motor vehicle Tree Grass

Rectangle Grass Wood Gas Plant

Motor vehicle Automotive tire Bumper Automotive exterior Automotive exhaust

Tire Wheel Automotive tire Motor vehicle Vehicle

Tire Wheel Green Automotive tire Motor vehicle

·
Premium Member
3,511 Posts
Picture #1, #5, & #6 you have the rear of the box against your tractor tow plate. The box is turned around. The hitch on the box is to tow a wagon behind the box.
Picture #3, the top of this picture goes toward the rear of the tractor.
Your tractor does not have the rear 3 point hitch to complete the hookup. (unless I'm missing something I don't know about)
A 3 point hitch will cost you from $300 to $500 if what I say is true you need it.

·
Registered
2,667 Posts
After studying it more, I'd say those brackets go in-between the frame and rockshaft mounts, then the box locks into them with the spring loaded pins...????
Agreed. The green brackets replace the small black brackets that hold the rockshaft in place. I'm not sure if there is any connection at the bottom of the box.
This assumes the box is made to fit a 318.
Edit: I don't think there is any way to use those brackets on a 318, as they don't fit the rockshaft.
I was thinking of brackets like this, that do fit over the end of the rockshaft.
Auto part Font Gas Metal Circle

·
Super Moderator
4,412 Posts
I agree you have it backward. It would help if you had a better picture of the front.

·
Registered
2 Posts