Weekend Freedom Machines banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3,501 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone purchased the tool(s) to make up your own hydraulic hoses? This is what amazon has on their CDN site. I don't have much experience with hydraulic hose making. Don't know what's best or what will work. Does anyone else? I have some 1/4" to 1/2" hoses but only a few with the type of fittings I need. I'd still have to buy fittings so it might not be worth buying the crimping tools instead of just buying new hoses as needed.

·
Registered
2,398 Posts
I've used crimp equipment like Weatherhead when I worked for a living, but never a "portable" unit like that. Here in the States, if you buy a fitting from NAPA, they'll cut your hose to length and crimp fitting in place for the charge of the fitting, with no cut or crimp charge. Bob

·
Registered
40 Posts
The description on Amazon says that kit is for air conditioning hoses. I would only use professional equipment to make hydraulic hoses.

·
Registered
801 Posts
Then there is the DIY option. I looked at some Weatherhead (maybe another supplier or two as well) die sets and decided in a fit of "becauseIcanism" to machine up a set of dies for both 1/4" and 3/8" hose sizes. Bought a bucket of fittings from DiscountHydraulic and munched away. Out of about 60 crimps, I admit to one failure-but I saw that leaking badly before failing in an oily mess.

·
Premium Member
387 Posts