Weekend Freedom Machines banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to the JD scene and have made a few posts but I am still green as grass. I have a 300 right now that I will be selling very soon. I have a 317 with an Onan waiting in the wings as my next project. I do not have it in my possession. I want the current custodian of the machine to give me info from the engine. I assume the engine would be a p218g but where would the data tag be located? Thank you for any help-Bill
Here is my 300

·
Registered
228 Posts
Oh don't sell the 300! That is one clean tractor and I love the K engines. K engines are simple, last forever, and easy to rebuild.
Personally I would pass on the 317. If you are going to get a tractor with an Onan I would go for a 318 with power steering.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I must add to my story. The 300 was given to me by a friend with the understanding that I would use it until I didnt want it anymore. He started bugging me about selling it so I could take the 317 on as my next project. Selling the 300 will go to finance my keeping the 317 as my own tractor. Bill

·
Registered
2,961 Posts
Bill, From CTM2, JD Onan Manual:

ENGINE SERIAL NUMBER PLATE
The engine serial number plate is located under the air
cleaner.

Hope this helps, Bob

·
Registered
3,857 Posts
That's some friend...is he giving you the 317 as well? 317s are nice tractors. If you enjoyed the 300, you'll like the 317. Didn't know they came with Onan engines though. Thought they were stock with Kohler twins...another nice engine.

·
Registered
691 Posts
That 300 pictured looks great.

Onan engine engine data (info) is usually located on the RH side, IF the engine is still installed in the tractor. And as Bob posted, is under the air cleaner housing, on the battery side.
Think the older ones were metal and newer were not so the data info could be distorted with solvents, etc.