Weekend Freedom Machines banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I got a late model 455, I just bought it late last year and spent the winter fixing it up. I put the deck on today and tried to run it and it blows number 6 15amp fuse. Here's what I have found so far. I replaced the pto switch, I have found that the seat switch and the reverse switch is gone and jumped. The last guy, when he wanted it to turn on was putting a magnet on the solenoid coil and not using the switch at all. Wow, that's a new one on me. So I replaced the pto solenoid because the coil was just hanging.now, its seams the brake switch is fine, cause it wont start without it depressed. If I pull the pto switch before I turn on the key to run it wont blow. But of course I cant start it because the switch is engaged. But if I start it and pull the switch it blows. I have redone all the safety switch jumper and they seem fine. I'm kinda stumped, I'm not good with a multitester but am will to try if anyone has a starting point

·
Registered
66 Posts
Dear Green - first a couple questions that might help us better understand what's going on.
1. Spell check got your text and changed something to RIO. Maybe you can edit the post with the correct spelling. I'm not sure which switch you meant to write.
2. You said you replaced the SOLENOID - which solenoid did you change out and just curious why you changed it, did it test bad or did it have a visible defect?
3. You say if you pull the switch before you turn on the key - I assume you mean pull the PTO switch. Please explain more about the key position when you do this when the fuse does not blow. Is the ignition key switch in the OFF, RUN or START position after you pull the switch? Are you sitting on the seat when you do this with brake switch depressed as if you are going to start the tractor?
4. When you pull the PTO switch and the fuse does not blow, can you hear anything from the PTO like a click?