Weekend Freedom Machines banner
1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,330 Posts
Easy, it’s all about the Onan. Massive cast iron flywheel with cooling fins. The yanmar just doesn’t have it. But, as they say, imho.
Torque is torque. Since it's a function of turning force over time and they are both rated at 18 HP, they should be about the same. Right out of the box, the 322 being 100 lbs heavier would have the advantage.

But I think Mr. "TempletonJDguy," is just stirring the pot looking for a lively discussion. If it's the numbers "Bolensman" is looking for he could easily look them up. Being they are both rated at 18 HP, the torque is likely to be very close.

IMHO :)

Reactions: DEERE317

·
Registered
330 Posts
I’m no aircraft mechanic. I think the yanmar is rated at 16. Mine is opinion only. To me the Onan has more power and pulling torque in the deep grass than my 332. I don’t have a 322 so can’t compare to that. Also been my experience the older motors with heavier flywheels out perform any newer motor rated at the same horsepower.

·
Registered
271 Posts
I'll take the torque of the Yanmar diesel thanks. LOL................ I have a JD 318 Onan and the 332 diesel Yanmar beats it hands down in tall grass with a 50" deck, so unless my Onan is just beat to death. I mean it only starts on one cylinder then the second one fires.................. Who knows?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Onan B43G: gas 18.2 PS (13.4 kW; 18.0 HP) at 3,600 rpm of horsepower and 43.0 N·m (4.4 kg·m, 31.7 ft·lb) of torque.
Source:
322 yanmar: 3TG66UJ 13.4 Kw (18hp) 4.2 kgM (30.3 ft/lb)

Source:
but its more than just absolute numbers. Power delivery at rpm is also a factor, not only in how it operates but how it “feels” when loading it down. Generally, a diesel makes more torque at lower rpms than a gas engine, which makes it feel more powerful. Whether or not that works for you depends on what you are using it for.

·
Premium Member
1,330 Posts