Weekend Freedom Machines banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
613 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gentlemen!! Once again I solicit your vast knowledge and wisdom. My local dealer has a nice looking John Deere 265 with a power flow bagger and a snow blower at a fair price. I have researched the "plastic/nylon" cam gear used in Kawasaki engines extensively and cannot say for certain whether or not this model John Deere has this issue or not. It certainly has a single cylinder air cooled Kawasaki engine built prior to 1999. The selling dealer is kind of vague on this issue. Another local Deere dealer told me only the water cooled models used this poor quality cam gear. Even if the 265 is so equipped, it shouldn't be that big a deal to repair when it becomes necessary. If you know the CORRECT answer, not what you heard, or your buddy said, etc... I would love to hear from you. Thanks in advance.

·
Administrator
6,328 Posts
Harold,
I'm no expert on this subject, but I have been lurking, reading, and participating on this site and other John Deere sites, and I have never read of a problem on the 265s. They were made from 1988 to 1994 and there are a lot of them still on the job.

·
Registered
12 Posts
265 uses the single cylinder 17hp air cooled engine which never had cam issues. Almost never come apart. Balancer assy has exploded on a few, but they will rattle at you for a while before they do.

·
Registered
246 Posts
Harold, we have sold and serviced 100's of used John Deere tractors and riders with Kawasaki engines over the last 15 years. We have never got or had even one with a cam gear failure. Way too many guys are hung up on plastic cam gear worries. The 265 is a fine machine and should serve you well. My 2 cents.

·
Registered
305 Posts