Weekend Freedom Machines banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've currently got my VH70 torn down for rebuild. Its my first attempt at rebuilding an engine, so I'm learning while I go. I noted that the oil pump doesn't operate smoothly by hand, even after cleaning and re-oiling. Is this normal or should I replace it?

·
Banned
211 Posts
Dave- Don't have an answer for you but I'm curious as to your reason for needing to rebuild your VH70 in the first place. I'm asking because it's almost, if not impossible to find rebuild parts for this engine if it should require oversize piston & rings. What is your situation with this. Do you have a parts source. Sorry for pulling you away from your original question.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Bob, I'd call the pump piston uniformly lightly scratched. The bore isn't very easy to see but don't see heavy scoring.

Gerald, I took the engine apart because of several issues, first it was very hard to start. It would only start with the throttle almost all the way closed. Second, it had always smoked a little under load and lacked power to mow through heavier grass. The smoking had recently gotten much worse and third the governor had not controlled engine speed on another occasion. It had been my only mower for about five years until I got a GT262 last year so I could now afford some down time on the 70.